The Lagnas

The different lagnas which become important are:

  • Karakamsa lagna (K.L)
  • Pada lagna (P.L) (Arudha lagna)
  • Up-Pada Lagna(U.P)
  • The Padas or Arudha for the twelve houses.

The karakamsa lagna and the pada lagna are the most important and they are used for all important predictions.

  • The karakamsa is the navamsa rashi of the Atmakarak marked in the lagna chart (D-1).
  • The pada lagna is as many rashis ahead of lagna lord, as he is from lagna.

The method of computation of these lagnas with illustration and their Importance will be explained subsequently.

The Aspects (Drishti)

Jaimini aspects are somewhat different from Parashari aspects.

Parashari Aspects:

Parashari aspects are aspects of planets. Every planet aspects the seventh place from where it is placed. Jupiter Aspects the fifth, seventh and ninth place from itself. Mars aspects the fourth, Seventh and eighth place from itself and Saturn Aspects the third Seventh and tenth place from itself. Rahu and Ketu are not supposed to have drishtis because they are chhaya grahas. They affect the axis in which they are placed. Some Astrologers consider their aspects to be like Jupiter.

Jaimini Aspects

Jaimini claimed that Rashis (The groups of fixed stars) also have their aspects and the planets which are placed in them cast their aspects along with the Rashis in which they are placed.

  1. 1. All Char Rashis i.e. Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn aspect the Sthir Rashis i.e. Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius, except the ones next to themselves.
  1. 2. All Sthir Rashis aspect Char Rashis, except the one next to themselves.
  2. 3. All Dwiswabhava Rashis i.e. Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces aspect each other.

Char Dasha

  • In Jaimini System the dashas are Rashi based, and not nakshatra based, as in the Parashari system.
  • Char dasha comprises of 12 Rashi dashas from Aries to Pisces. Each Mahadasha again has 12 Antardashas of the 12 Rashis. Each Antardasha further has 12 Pratyantar dashas and so on.
  • Because char dasha is a short dasha, going down to pratyantar level can give fairly close timing for events.
  • The dashas move either in direct order i.e. - Aries, Taurus , Gemini, or in the indirect order, i.e. Taurus- Aries, Pisces. The Antar and the Pratyantar dashas more similarly.
  • The period or the duration of the dashas is not fixed. It ranges between 1 and 12 years.
  • The order or the sequence of the dasha and the years of the dashas are decided according to certain rules which will be explained and illustrated in the subsequent chapters.


Jaimini has many yogas of different types. These are Dhana yogas, Raja Yogas and Arishta yogas, Producing varied results. They are slightly different from the parashari yogas.

Jaimini System an Introduction

Jaimini System an Introduction

The knowledge that we have on Jaimini Astrology today is based on an ancient text known as Jaimini Sutras, which is divided into four chapters or Adhyayas, where this unique system of Hindu astrology has been explained in about 1000 sutras. In many cases the meaning of these sutras are very confusing and difficult to understand.

Write your comments

blog comments powered by Disqus