guna of each koota vary from the other starting from 1 to 8. For the convenience of the students, the table of points of gunas is being presented here. Every Koota has been assigned certain points or gunas which are as follows :

Ashtakoot and Relative Subject








Attitude & Mentality




Control & Dominance








Sex, Problem in progeny


Grah Maitri


Adjustment, Behaviour




Nature & Aptitude




Conjugal bliss




Health, Progeny



This is a frequently asked question by the students of astrology as to why Varna has been allotted only 1 point or guna while Nadi has 8 points or gunas ? There is no clear cut and satisfactory answer to it as there is no mention and explanation regarding this in any astrological classics or text. But it is certain that there is mention and explanation of total 36 gunas and allotment of gunas to each of the eight components of Ashtakoota in scriptures. It is suggested that if there is minimum matching of 18 gunas in the horoscopes of a boy and a girl, it is go ahead for marriage. Higher the number of guna matching, higher will be the compatibility and mutual understanding. But it is ideal to have at least 21 gunas out of 36 if there is no similarity in their Ganas, Bhakoots and Nadis. Nadi symbolises the health and progeny. Health and progeny are the most essential component of married life and conjugal bliss. It has been rightly said that if health is lost, everything is lost. This is due to this fact that Nadi has been allotted maximum 8 points or gunas that is ahead of all in Ashtakootas. Bhakoota indicates the nature of the prospective husband and wife, their likes and dislikes, their attraction towards each other which are essential for the two individuals of different family and different sex to stay together and have congenial relationship throughout the life. This is due to these considerations that Bhakoota has been considered second most important component of the Ashtakoota and allotted 7 points or gunas. Yoni represents the three natural gunas - Satoguna, Rajoguna and Tamoguna. Yoni matching reveals the nature of boy and the girl and from which group they belong, are they compatible to each other to lead their lives together happily or they will fight like cats and dogs and make the lives of each other and family miserable?

Matching of these components of Ashtakoota is essential. All these components will be analysed and described elaborately in the chapters ahead.

There are some other systems as well for the Match-making but the Ashtakoota Milaan is the most accepted system and is quite sufficient to judge the similarity in two families, similarity between the prospective husband and wife, their mental health, Dosh Samya and Dasha Samya, Dasha Sandhi alongwith their longevity and other common traits required to carry on the garhasthya life with ease.

From the next chapter onwards we will discuss each component of Ashtakoota separately in detail.


  1. Q1.How many gunas have been allotted to Yoni?
  2. Q2Which factors should be taken into account in matchmaking?
  3. Q3.Atleast how many gunas are essential for marriage?
  4. Q4.Which qualities are known by Bhakoota matching?
  5. Q5.Which qualities are indicated by Yoni?
Horoscope Matching

Horoscope Matching

Today “Horoscope matching” has become the indispensable part of Hindu marriage. But it has not been mentioned in any old Jataka scripture of Astrology. However, it has been described in the Muhurta scriptures of the same. In Ramayan, marriage of Rama, Bharata, Lakshmana and Shatrughna has been described elaborately. But, in this great epic also Horoscope matching has not been mentioned. Likewise, in Mahabharata, too, it has not been cited. Therefore, it can be said that Horoscope matching in Astrology was not in practice a few centuries ago. But, the community accepted and made it an indispensable part keeping its usefulness in view.

Write your comments

blog comments powered by Disqus