The planetary lordship and the corresponding deity of the directions is as shown below :

Planets and their lordship of directions




























In this manner it can be seen that there is full control of planets over the directions. If a planet is afflicted in the horoscope then it will affect the condition of the person and also affect the respective direction adversely because of a close interdependence between the planet and the direction. Suppose fourth house of a person's horoscope is afflicted then there will definitely be some vastu defect in his house and full results of good vastu will not be achieved.


    Q1. Which signs indicate East direction and which element represents East direction?

    Q2. Which signs indicate East direction and which element represents North direction?

    Q3. How is Vastu and Astrology inter-related ?

    Q4. Name the ruling planet and lord of North-East direction.

    Q5. Name the ruling planet and lord of South-West direction.

Muhurta 6

Muhurta is an important pillar of Astrology. Muhurta has been dealt with extensively in Muhurta Chintamani, Brihat Samhita and in other classics. Muhurta is selected to ensure smooth unhindered completion of some important tasks. In transit, planets go on producing numerous planetary combinations. Some of these are auspicious while some others are inauspicious.

Working out the auspicious muhurtas and utilising them for the appropriate activity helps in smooth completion of the activity. Identification of a suitable moment for the commencement of any activity is known as the determination of Muhurta. Muhurta cannot change the circumstances but it can change their direction. Commencing an activity in a good muhurta can improve one's destiny. The wise have mentioned different muhurtas for different types of activities. There are 30 muhurtas in one day and night. There are 15 day muhurtas and 15 night muhurtas. They are based on the 27 nakshatras. Ardra and Rohini nakshatras are in the day and also in the night. In the day time Ardra is called Gireesh and during the night it is called Shiva or Rudra, Rohini is called Vidhata during the day and Dhatra Swami during the night. Dividing the Dinman by 15 gives the duration of one muhurta. If the Dinman is of 30 ghatis and 15 palas, then dividing this by 15 gives the duration of one muhurta as 2 ghatis and 1 pala. One ghati is equal to 24 minutes and one pala is equal to 24 seconds. This gives the duration of one muhurta as 48 minutes and 24 seconds in this case. However duration of muhurta varies according to the duration of dinman. Atharvaveda gives guidelines for commencing an activity in an auspicious muhurta.

The puranas describe 15 'Sarva Sidhiprada' muhurtas. Of these 8 are especially auspicious. The first position belongs to Abhijeet muhurta. This is also known as the Vijay muhurta. 'Abhijeet muhurta' is available every day from 11.45 AM to 12.30PM. According to Narad purana', Abhijeet muhurta starts at 11.36 AM and ends at 12.24 PM. Activity started in this muhurta normally succeeds and no other considerations are required for this muhurta.

Domestic Vastu

Domestic Vastu

The principles of vastu science are scientific. By getting the knowledge of these principles and applying it in the construction of building the vastu related faults can be rectified. This book talks about these principles in detail.

Write your comments

blog comments powered by Disqus